Son Misses Out As Liverpool Dominate PFA Team Of The Year

Six Liverpool players have been included in the 2021/2022 Professional Footballers Association (PFA) team of the year but there is no place for the Premier League's joint top-scorer Son Heung-Min.

Son Misses Out As Liverpool Dominate PFA Team Of The Year

In goal, Liverpool goalkeeper Alisson Becker gets the nod ahead of compatriot and Manchester City shot stopper Ederson Moraes. Both goalkeepers recorded 20 clean sheets in the top flight this season.

Trent Alexander-Arnold takes the right-back berth after yet another impressive season at the back for Liverpool. He provided 12 assists as Jurgen Klopp's side finished second.

The left-back spot goes to Manchester City's Portugal international Joao Cancelo. The former Inter Milan man provided seven assists and scored one goal to help Pep Guardiola's side retain the title.

Recently-departed Chelsea defender Antonio Rudiger was a rock at the back for his side, racking up 34 appearances in the top flight as Thomas Tuchel's side finished in third position. He is one of only two non-Liverpool or Manchester City players in the team of the year.

Alongside Rudiger at centre-back is Virgil Van Dijk. The Netherlands international was back to his commanding best after returning from injury in the previous campaign and helped Liverpool push Manchester City all the way.

A three-man midfield is made up of Premier League player of the season Kevin De Bruyne, who struck 15 league goals, Bernardo Silva and Thiago Alcantara.

PFA player of the year, Mohamed Salah takes up one of the three striking slots alongside Sadio Mane and Manchester United's Cristiano Ronaldo.

Son, who along with Salah, shared the goalking award with 23 goals apiece, misses out.